French Exams

Plurilingua offers preparation to the DELF/DALF exams as well as the French GCSE and French A-Levels.

The DELF (Diplôme d'Etudes en Langue Française) and the DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française) are official qualifications awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify foreign candidates’ competence in French.
- The DELF and DALF are composed of 6 diplomas that correspond to the levels of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. (CEFRL)
- The 6 diplomas are completely independent. This means that candidates can register for the examination of their choice, according to their level. At each level, 4 skills are evaluated: listening, speaking, reading and writing.
- The DELF A1, A2, B1, B2 are available in a Junior Version for candidates under the age of 18 years old.


Basic User


This level recognises basic knowledge. It is the most basic level at which a language is used, called the "discovery" stage. At this stage, the learner can interact in a simple way: he/she can speak about him/herself and his/her immediate environment.

This level is based on the same principle: it recognises the linguistic competency of a basic user, considered as a social actor. The candidate can communicate in simple and routine tasks requiring the most common polite phrases and exchanges of information.


Independent User


At this level, the user becomes independent.
He/she can maintain interaction: he/she can understand and maintain a discussion and give his/her opinion. He/she is capable of dealing with situations likely to arise in daily life.

A B2 user has a degree of independence that allows him/her to construct arguments to defend his/her opinion, explain his/her viewpoint and negotiate. At this level, the candidate has a degree of fluency and spontaneity in regular interactions and is capable of correcting his/her own mistakes.
The B2 level is the minimum level required for admissions into a French university.


Proficient User


Language users at level C1 are independent. They can express themselves fluently and spontaneously. They have a large vocabulary and can choose the appropriate expression to introduce their comments. They can produce clear, well-structured discourse without hesitation and which shows controlled use of structures.
People who have passed the DALF (C1 or C2) are exempt from taking language tests for entrance into French universities.

C2 users' proficiency in the language is illustrated by precision, appropriateness and fluency of expression. C2 candidates are capable of using the language for academic and advanced-level purposes.

The GCSE and GCE exams are academic qualifications highly valued by schools, colleges and employers in the UK.

• The GCSE (General Certification of Secondary Education) is usually taken by 14-16 years old. The French GCSE consists in 4 units based on the following skills: speaking, listening, reading and writing.

• The GCE (General Certificate of Education) is one of the main routes into higher education and is usually taken by 14 to 19 years old. It consists in 4 units that are usually presented in two years:

- AS level (Advanced Subsidiary) :
Unit 1: a speaking test where the candidate will demonstrate his/ her ability to engage a discussion in French on a prepared general topic

Unit 2: a listening/reading/ writing test

- A2 level ((Advanced) :
Unit 3: a speaking test where the candidate is required to debate on a chosen topic, defend his/her views and sustain a discussion on other topics.

Unit 4: a writing test including a translation from English to French, an essay linked to the prescribed general topic areas and a research-based essay on an area of interest to the student that relates to the culture or the society of a French-language country.